Peggy G. Hereford Award

The Peggy G. Hereford Award, presented annually since 1990, reflects the professional attributes of its namesake.  A founding member of the Airport Operators Council International’s Marketing and Communications Committee – our current committee’s precursor – Peggy sought to capture the energy of aviation and unleash it to the world. She served as the Public Affairs Director at one of the world’s busiest airports, Los Angeles International, and elevated the profession of public relations in the aviation field to new heights. A creative woman, natural leader and dynamic personality, Peggy inspired others to achieve the same.

The Peggy G. Hereford Award is given to honor creativity, effectiveness in reaching audiences with a message, and the overall scope of an airport’s effort in marketing and public relations. Its goal is to spotlight the commitment and dedication of the contest’s most decorated team each year that – in its own way – is the best the industry has to offer. This award which is widely recognized throughout the airport world as the highest honor an airport can earn in the public and media relations field.


Winners of the Peggy G. Hereford Award

1990-1991           Stansted Airport Ltd. (BAA Group)

1992                    Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

1993                    Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport

1994                    Regional Airport Authority of Louisville and Jefferson County

1995                    Baltimore/Washington International Airport

1996                    Vancouver International Airport Authority

1997                    San Jose International Airport

1998                    Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport

1999                    Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport

2000                    Portland International Airport

2001                    Aéroports de Montréal

2002                    Norfolk International Airport

2003                    Aéroports de Montréal

2004                    San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

2005                    Denver International Airport

2006                    Los Angeles International Airport

2007                    Seattle Tacoma International Airport

2008                    Edmonton International Airport

2009                    Edmonton International Airport

2010                    Edmonton International Airport

2011                    Miami International Airport

2012                    Vancouver International Airport

2013                    Vancouver International Airport

2014                    San Francisco International Airport

2015                    Vancouver International Airport

2016                    Memphis International Airport

Excellence in Airport Marketing and Communications Contest

2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2007 Winners

2006 Winners

2005 Winners

Back to Awards