DOT Announces Small Community Air Service Development Grant Recipients

The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) recently issued its order awarding Small Community Air Service Development Program (SCASD) grants to 29 communities totaling $14,984,000. 

The SCASD program was originally established under the Wendell H. Ford Aviation Investment and Reform Act for the 21st Center (AIR-21) and reauthorized under the Vision 100-Century of Aviation Reauthorization Act.  This Fiscal Year 2010 Federal Aviation Administration Extension Act (P.L. 111-69) extends the authorization of appropriations through 2011.

SCASD allows DOT to issue grants to a community or consortia of communities in order to provide revenue guarantees or other risk abatements for air service at an underserved airport for up to three years, attract new service or additional service to alleviate above average airfares, or provide other services such as marketing and promotion to make air service more attractive to potential air carriers.

ACI-NA member airports receiving 2011 grants include Albany, $750,000; Baton Rouge, $340,000; Dubuque, $500,000; Evansville, $500,000; Green Bay, $500,000; Latrobe, $200,000; San Angelo, $500,000; Spokane, $950,000 and Tri-Cities (TN), $250,000.   

Other airport recipients include Auburn/Lewiston (ME), $600,000; Bozeman, $950,000; Crescent City (CA), $200,000; Escanaba (MI) $72,500; Fargo, $750,000; Flagstaff, $800,000; Grand Forks (ND), $300,000; Harrisburg, $500,000; Kalamazoo, $500,000; Loveland (CO), $221,500; Lynchburg (VA), $700,000; Manistee (MI) $50,000; North Bend (OR), $550,000; Pikeville (KY),$750,000; Pocatello (ID), $500,000; Saint Cloud (MN), $750,000; Santa Rosa (CA), $650,000; Shenandoah Valley (VA), $150,000; South Bend ($750,000) and Toledo, $750,000.