Operations & Technical Affairs Committee

The ACI-NA Operations & Technical Affairs Committee is the forum for the discussion and development of policies and programs that relate to airport safety planning, design, construction, operations and maintenance.

Members of the committee focus their efforts on: airfield and ramp safety, including safety management systems (SMS); terminal, apron, airfield and roadway design; satellite navigation and other next generation air traffic control system enhancements (NextGen); impacts of new large aircraft; winter operations; airspace obstruction evaluation and control; pavement design, construction and maintenance; signage; lighting; airfield markings; airport maintenance systems; and airport safety technology research and development.

Committee members assist staff with the development of legislative recommendations, responses to regulatory proposals, and coordination with industry/government working groups and task forces.  They also serve as industry representatives to a variety of aviation organizations including the National Academy of Sciences Transportation Research Board (TRB), International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and the Joint Program Development Office (JPDO) for the Next Generation Air Traffic Control System.

The Operations & Technical Affairs Committee has working groups for:


2015 Chair
Emily Underhill
Division Director - Development
Lee County Port Authority

Committee Secretaries
Paul Eubanks
(202) 293-8500

Wayne Harvey
(613) 560-9302

Richard Marchi
(202) 293-8500

Chris Oswald
(202) 293-8500